April 14, 2004

## **Charles E. Johnson Memorial Award Committee Report**

The committee received a single nomination this year and met on the morning of April 13 to discuss the merits of the nomination. To quote from the UO Committees web page, "The Johnson Memorial Award is made annually to a faculty member who by action and word as teacher, as scholar, and as citizen of the academic community has, over a period of years, exemplified commitment to the principles affirmed by the life and career of Charles E. Johnson." This statement suggests that a prerequisite for consideration is a sustained and substantial history of contributions. While the general quality of the nominee's record may be consistent with the intended principles, it was the committee's unanimous opinion that the history was too brief to merit consideration for this prestigious award. As a consequence, we recommend that there be no recipient of the award this year.

Sincerely,

Van Kolpin

Committee members: Jeffrey Hurwit Moira Kiltie Van Kolpin (chair) Mark Reed Gwen Steigelman