involving false identification or misuse of identification apply to
2student IDs, driver licenses issued by any state or country, ID cards
issued by any state or country, and other documents which 2might be
used to prove identity, address or age.
Common offenses include:
Using Invalid License or ID
Alteration of your own driver license or DMV-issued ID, or the license
ID of another to show incorrect age. Simple possession of an altered
license or ID card is enough to be charged with a crime.
Permitting Misuse of License or ID
Lending your driver license or DMV-issued ID to another in order to
obtain alcohol or entry to drinking establishments. You could be
prosecuted for this offense even if the friend you loaned your license
to never even used it.
Another's License or ID
Displaying another's driver license or DMV-issued ID to obtain alcohol
or entry to drinking establishments
Unlawful Production of License or ID Card
Manufacturing or selling fake driver license or ID
False Swearing/False Application/Forgery
Presenting another's identification to DMV to obtain a license or ID
card which shows incorrect name, date of birth or address information
Misrepresentation of Age by a Minor
Misrepresenting your age to gain entry to drinking establishments, even
if you don't consume alcohol inside. The misrepresentation could be
verbal, written (such as a certified statement of age) or by
presentation of any type of identification card, whether or not issued
by a DMV.
Holding Multiple Licenses or ID Cards
Applying to DMV for a duplicate license or ID whether or not you lend
your original license or DMV-issued ID to another
Giving False Info to Police Officer/Police Officer Issuing Citation
Misrepresenting your name, address or age to a police officer verbally,
or by presenting a borrowed, fake or altered driver license or ID card
Most of these offenses are Class A Misdemeanor crimes, punishable by up
to $5,000 or one year in jail, or both. Several unfortunate students
have been prosecuted for Forgery (the act of signing your friend's name
on a DMV license or ID application using your friend's birth
certificate). This type of Forgery is a felony, punishable by up to
$10,000 fine, 5 years in jail, or both.
In addition to any penalty imposed by the sentencing court, you may
also lose your driver license for at least one year, even if you are
not convicted of the offense. And if you are convicted,
most of these offenses are crimes of fraud or deceit which are viewed
as evidence of untruthfulness or dishonesty by employers, insurers and
in security clearance situations. Moreover, because most fake ID
charges are driving code offenses, they generally may not be expunged
(erased) from your record. That means you may carry the resulting
criminal conviction forever.
If you have a fake ID, destroy it. Most students are caught with fake
ID by police officers watching you search your wallet for your real ID.
Also, when your friends ask for your old license as you turn 21, don't
hand it over. If your friend gets caught using the ID or inadvertently
loses his wallet containing two sets of ID, the chances are both of you
will wind up in criminal court.
information is not intended to provide legal advice. Any incidental
fee-paying University of Oregon student who has questions about false
identification may call ASUO Legal Services at 541-346-4273 to arrange
ASUO Legal Services' attorneys are licensed to practice in
the State of Oregon. Information disseminated in this website does not
constitute legal advice and does not create an attorney/client
relationship. This page is for information purposes only. For legal
advice, contact an attorney licensed in your state. You should not make
legal hiring decisions based upon brochures, advertising or other